Log in with your credentials

or    

Connect with Facebook

Forgot your details?

Create Account

Mercy Ships

Es geht weit über das Vorstellbare hinaus. Bilder, die wir noch nie gesehen haben, Menschen, die derartig leiden, werden anerkannt, gesehen und erhalten Hilfe von Tausenden von Menschen. Frauen und Männer, die ihre Liebe, ihre Spiritualität und Ihr Know-How denen zur Verfügung stellen, die sie so brauchen. Was für eine wunderbare Mission. Mercy Ships… Danke…

Stellt euch vor…

…Ein Boot, an dessem Bord sich Chirurgen, Krankenschwestern, Hydraulikingenieure und viele weitere Spezialisten befinden.

Und jetzt stellt euch vor, dass dieses Boot die ärmsten Länder unserer Welt besucht, um gratis ihre Dienste anzubieten. 

Das Africa Mercy, ist das grösste nicht staatliche Spital’boot‘ der Welt, das aus einer Crew von 400 Freiwilligen aus der ganzen Welt besteht, die Tausenden von Menschen, die nie an so eine Hilfe geglaubt haben, Hoffnung und Heilung bringen. 

Willkommen Mercy Ships, eine Antwort des Mitgefühls, eine Antwort an eine Menschheit, die leidet.

Geschichte

1978 begann in Lausanne das Abenteuer, das zur Gründung von Mercy Ships führte. Damals machten sich Don und Deyon Stephens auf die Suche nach einem Schiff, um ihren Traum von einem schwimmenden Spital zu erfüllen, das zu den Ärmsten dieser Welt fahren sollte. 

Am 7. Juli 1978 wurde der Traum wahr. Dank einem Kredit von einer Schweizer Bank wurde für 1 Million Dollar das erste Mercy Ship gekauft, die M/S Victoria, ein ausgemustertes Kreuzfahrtschiff. Eine Crew wurde angeworben und Geld gesammelt, um das Schiff nach internationalem Standard umzubauen.

Im Laufe von 4 Jahren verwandelte sich das Passagierschiff in ein Spital. Drei Operationsräume sowie eine Pflegestation mit 40 Betten wurden eingebaut. Die Besatzung von 350 Freiwilligen kam aus der ganzen Welt. 1982 lief das inzwischen in Anastasis umbenannte Schiff mit einer Grösse von 11’701 Registertonnen aus – das erste Mercy Ship!

Ein weiterer Meilenstein wurde 2007 mit der Inbetriebnahme derAfrica Mercy gesetzt, dem grössten der vier Spitalschiffe in der Geschichte unseres Werkes.

Zehn Jahre lang lebten Don und Deyon mit ihren vier Kindern auf der Anastasis, diesem ersten „Schiff der Barmherzigkeit“. Später übersiedelten sie ins internationale Hauptquartier nach Garden Valley in USA. Von dort begleiteten sie das Wachstum von Mercy Ships von den bescheidenen Anfängen zu einer Organisation, in deren Geschichte Tausende von freiwilligen Fachleuten aus über 35 Ländern Einsätze geleistet haben. Don ist heute Präsident von Mercy Ships und Mitglied im internationalen Vorstand.

mercyships supports

Edith ist schön

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our NEWSLETTER
You are free to unsubscribe at any time.
We respect your privacy !

FOLGEN

Kontaktiere den Autor

KONTAKTIEREN SIE UNS

Sie benötigen weitere Informationen, senden Sie uns eine E-Mail und wir werden, so schnell wie möglich auf Sie zurückkommen .

Sending

Copyrights 2020 all right reserved - 7sky.life | powered by Concept-Web

Log in with your credentials

or    

Connect with Facebook

Forgot your details?

Create Account

Log in with your credentials

or    

Connect with Facebook

Forgot your details?

Create Account

Mercy Ships

It is beyond the imaginable. Images that we have never seen before, humans in such a suffering, recognized, seen, helped, by the generosity of thousands of people. Women and men which put their love, their spirituality, their know how at the disposition of these who need them most. What an extraordinary mission, Mercy Ships… Thank you…

Imagine…

… a ship crewed by doctors, teachers, water engineers and agriculturalists visiting some of the world’s poorest nations. Now imagine their services offered free of charge!

The Africa Mercy, the world’s largest non governmental hospital ship, is crewed by over 400 volunteers from around the world and brings hope and healing to hundreds of thousands of people who could never have believed it possible.

Welcome to Mercy Ships, a compassionate response to a world where many have lost hope!

History

In 1978, while living in Lausanne, Switzerland, Don and Deyon Stephens began a journey that led to the founding of Mercy Ships. A team started to find a suitable vessel to fulfill their dream of a hospital ship that would reach out to the world’s poorest people.

On July 7th 1978, this dream became a reality. The first Mercy Ship, a retired ocean liner called M/V Victoria, was purchased for $1,000,000, thanks to a loan from a Swiss bank. Don and Deyon began recruiting crew for the ship and raising funds to bring the Mercy Ship into compliance with international standards.

Ongoing efforts over four years resulted in the transformation of the passenger vessel into a hospital ship. With the addition of 3 operating theatres and a 40 bed ward, the vessel became an 11,701 tons floating hospital, carrying a volunteer crew of 350 from all over the world. In 1982, the vessel sailed as the newly christened Anastasis — the first Mercy Ship!

Another milestone was reached in 2007 with the launching of theAfrica Mercy, the largest hospital ship operated by our organisation in its history.

Don and his wife Deyon and their four children lived onboard the first Mercy Ship, the Anastasis, for 10 years. Now based in the International Operations Center in Garden Valley, USA, the Stephens have overseen the growth of Mercy Ships from its humble beginnings to an organisation that has in its history had thousands of professional volunteers from more than 35 nations. Don currently serves as President and on the Executive Committee and Mercy Ships International Board.

Dreamteam supports

Edith is beautiful

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our NEWSLETTER
You are free to unsubscribe at any time.
We respect your privacy !

FOLLOW

Contact the author

CONTACT US

You need more info, send send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

Copyrights 2020 all right reserved - 7sky.life | powered by Concept-Web

Log in with your credentials

or    

Connect with Facebook

Forgot your details?

Create Account